Utility Models

A utility model is similar to a patent in that it provides a monopoly right for an invention. Utility models are also known as ‘petty patents’ or ‘utility innovations’. For certain types of invention, filing a utility model application as a means of protection may be a useful alternative to patent protection in many countries in Africa.

Our team of registered patent attorneys and patent professionals handles not only the drafting and analysis of utility model specifications but also the filing and prosecution of utility model applications across Africa. Our understanding of the technical aspects across all industry sectors in Africa means that our advice is robust and practical. Our team of qualified patent attorneys has experience in biotechnology and life sciences, chemistry and chemical engineering, clean technology and energy, electrical electronics and software engineering, food beverage and fmcg, healthcare and therapeutics, mechanical civil and mining engineering, medical technologies, mining and resources, and nanotechnology.

 Important considerations when filing utility models in Africa

  • Obtaining protection via a utility model application is often much less expensive than proceeding through the patent route: the requirements for grant of a utility model are usually less stringent - there is often no inventive step requirement - and the duration is shorter
  • Utility models may be obtained either by direct national filing or through one of the two regional organisations in Africa; ARIPO and OAPI. Not all of the ARIPO Harare Protocol contracting countries provide for utility model protection. ARIPO has adopted a relatively broad definition of a utility model (Section 3ter of the Harare Protocol)
  • A utility model application can be based on a PCT international patent application

contact us for further information.

The Team

Lodewyk Cilliers

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

l.cilliers@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1045

view profile

Craig Kahn

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

c.kahn@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1110

view profile

John McKnight

Johannesburg, South Africa

Partner

j.mcknight@spoor.com

+ 27 11 994 5102

view profile

Hugh Moubray

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

h.moubray@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1025

view profile

Herman van Schalkwyk

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

h.vanschalkwyk@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1113

view profile

Dirk Hanekom

Cape Town, South Africa

Partner

d.hanekom@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4405

view profile

Margaret Le Galle

Jersey, Channel Islands

Director

m.legalle@spoor.co.uk

+ 44 1534 838 032

view profile

Danie Pienaar

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

d.pienaar@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1014

view profile

Heather Donald

Pretoria, South Africa

Consultant

h.donald@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1035

view profile

Alison Dyer

Cape Town, South Africa

Consultant

a.dyer@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4414

view profile

Kevin Bacon

Jersey, Channel Islands

Patent Prosecutions

k.bacon@spoor.co.uk

+ 44 1534 838 036

view profile

Amanda Banks

Jersey, Channel Islands

Patent Renewals

a.banks@spoor.co.uk

+ 44 1534 838 034

view profile