Regulatory

With increased consumer spending from a growing middle class, more and more brands are being made available on the African market. There is increasing concern about regulation, especially product safety. Several countries have regulatory systems in place but the policing of product registration remains erratic. Despite this, products must be registered. Failure to observe proper protocols will impact on business.

South Africa, in particular, has a complex regulatory environment. Several laws exist in relation to pharmaceuticals, complementary medicines, food, agricultural products and liquor.

We advise on regulatory issues throughout Africa. Our team provides pre-clearance checks and advice on:

  • Advertising and promotional materials
  • Packaging, labelling and formulation clearance
  • Pharmaceutical regulatory – Medicines Control Council (MCC) matters

contact us for further information.

The Team

Herman Blignaut

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

h.blignaut@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1129

view profile

Duncan Maguire

Jersey, Channel Islands

Director

d.maguire@spoor.co.uk

+ 44 1534 838 089

view profile

Wayne Meiring

Jersey, Channel Islands

Director

w.meiring@spoor.co.uk

+ 44 1534 838 042

view profile

Megan Reimers

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

m.reimers@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1081

view profile

Eben van Wyk

Cape Town, South Africa

Partner

e.vanwyk@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4439

view profile

Chris Walters

Jersey, Channel Islands

Director

c.walters@spoor.co.uk

+ 44 1534 838 073

view profile

John Foster

Cape Town, South Africa

Senior Associate

j.foster@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4441

view profile

Dirk Hanekom

Cape Town, South Africa

Partner

d.hanekom@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4405

view profile

Cheryl Payne

Pretoria, South Africa

Senior Associate

c.payne@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1131

view profile

Jeremy Speres

Cape Town, South Africa

Senior Associate

j.speres@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4401

view profile

Reinard Krüger

Pretoria, South Africa

Senior Associate

r.kruger@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1680

view profile

Chantal Haydon

Jersey, Channel Islands

Senior Paralegal

c.haydon@spoor.co.uk

+44 1534 838 085

view profile