Litigation

Africa’s economic growth brings with it an increasing number of commercial disputes involving intellectual property (IP) rights. While we focus on effective filing strategies to minimise litigation risk; sometimes it is unavoidable. Our dispute resolution team works with clients on their trade mark, patents, designs and copyright cases to reach the optimum settlement approach.

We have handled claims for clients across all industry sectors. Where possible, we use alternative dispute resolution methods including mediation or arbitration. A number of our partners in South Africa are qualified mediators and arbitrators.

Our services include:

Trade Mark Litigation

  • Trade mark and copyright infringement
  • Anti-counterfeiting
  • Company and domain name objections
  • Passing off
  • Unfair competition
  • Trade mark oppositions
  • Advertising matters before the Advertising Standards Authority (South Africa)
  • Commercial matters such as franchising, licence agreements, employee relations and entertainment law
  • Alternative dispute resolution including mediation or arbitration

Patent and Design Litigation

Our Patent and Design Litigation team handles technology-based intellectual property (IP) litigation. This includes litigation and legal opinions relating to:

  • Infringement, revocation, restoration and amendment of patents and registered designs
  • Technical copyright, trade secrets, technology-based contractual matters and passing-off
  • Alternative dispute resolution including mediation or arbitration

Copyright Litigation

We advise on the enforcement of copyright rights such as for technical design drawings, computer programmes, art works, literature, movies and records. We were instrumental in drafting legislation in South Africa for the enforcement of copyright. Spoor & Fisher has been involved in most of the reported copyright litigation in South Africa.

contact us for a summary of actions that may be taken in each country. 

The Team

Herman Blignaut

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

h.blignaut@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1129

view profile

Gerard du Toit

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

g.dutoit@spoor.com

+27 12 676 1018

view profile

Mohamed Khader

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

m.khader@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1285

view profile

Duncan Maguire

Jersey, Channel Islands

Director

d.maguire@spoor.co.uk

+ 44 1534 838 089

view profile

Wayne Meiring

Jersey, Channel Islands

Director

w.meiring@spoor.co.uk

+ 44 1534 838 042

view profile

Hugh Moubray

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

h.moubray@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1025

view profile

Louise Myburgh

Cape Town, South Africa

Partner

l.myburgh@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4404

view profile

Paul Ramara

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

p.ramara@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1212

view profile

Megan Reimers

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

m.reimers@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1081

view profile

Carl van Rooyen

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

c.vanrooyen@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1288

view profile

Eben van Wyk

Cape Town, South Africa

Partner

e.vanwyk@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4439

view profile

Chris Walters

Jersey, Channel Islands

Director

c.walters@spoor.co.uk

+ 44 1534 838 073

view profile

Charles Webster

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner

c.webster@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1279

view profile

Jonathan Whittaker

Pretoria, South Africa

Partner, Chairperson of Executive Committee

j.whittaker@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1026

view profile

John Foster

Cape Town, South Africa

Senior Associate

j.foster@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4441

view profile

Cheryl Payne

Pretoria, South Africa

Senior Associate

c.payne@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1131

view profile

Jeremy Speres

Cape Town, South Africa

Senior Associate

j.speres@spoor.com

+ 27 21 673 4401

view profile

Reinard Krüger

Pretoria, South Africa

Senior Associate

r.kruger@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1680

view profile

Femke van Dyk

Pretoria, South Africa

Senior Associate

f.vandyk@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1668

view profile

Sonja van Dalsen

Pretoria, South Africa

Associate

s.vandalsen@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1286

view profile

Brendon Ambrose

Pretoria, South Africa

Candidate Attorney

b.ambrose@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1310

view profile

Chantal Haydon

Jersey, Channel Islands

Senior Paralegal

c.haydon@spoor.co.uk

+44 1534 838 085

view profile

Anthony Hooper

Cape Town, South Africa

Consultant

a.hooper@spoor.com

+27 21 673 4400

view profile

Russell Norton

Cape Town, South Africa

Consultant

r.norton@spoor.com

+27 21 673 4417

view profile

Louis van Wyk

Pretoria, South Africa

Consultant

lj.vanwyk@spoor.com

+ 27 12 676 1111

view profile